Railway Board Clears 5,165 Seats in RRB NTPC 2026: Post-Wise and Zone-Wise Numbers Explained
Good news for every student waiting for the next big railway exam. On 03 September 2026, the Railway Board, Ministry of Railways issued its vacancy approval letter for Non-Technical Popular Categories (NTPC) recruitment. The Competent Authority (CRB and CEO) has cleared 3,477 at Graduate level and 1,688 at Under-Graduate level. Add the two and you get 5,165 vacancies approved for a CEN, with the final indent still to be placed in OIRMS. If railway exams are your goal, this is a clear signal that a fresh railway job notification is on its way.
Please read carefully, because one thing must be clear from the start. This letter is an internal approval, not the exam notification. There is no application form, no fee, no last date and no eligibility rule in it — all of that comes in the Centralized Employment Notification (CEN) the RRBs will publish later. What it does give you is the exact seat count, post by post and railway by railway, plus the official timeline for the next step. We at GovtJobsAlert have put every number below.
What Are the Key Highlights of the RRB NTPC 2026 Recruitment Approval Notice?
The Railway Board approves how many people each Zonal Railway and Production Unit may recruit; the RRBs then issue the CEN and take the recruitment forward. Signed by Executive Director (MPP) Shatrughna Behera, it tells the General Managers (P) their sanctioned NTPC strength for 2026.
| Detail | Information |
|---|---|
| Issued By | Railway Board, Ministry of Railways |
| Letter Number | E(MPP)/2026/20/6/NTPC dated 03.09.2026 |
| Graduate Level | 3,477 across 4 posts |
| Under-Graduate Level | 1,688 across 4 posts |
| Combined Vacancies | 5,165 (arithmetic sum) |
| Approval Covers | Issue of a Centralized Employment Notification (CEN) for 3,477 Graduate and 1,688 Under-Graduate vacancies for 2026 |
| Pay Levels | Level 2, 3, 5 and 6 |
| Basis of Assessment | Vacancy assessment done by Zonal Railways and Production Units in the HRMS Indent Management module, examined by Railway Board |
| Recruiting Body | Railway Recruitment Boards, through a CEN |
| Job Location | All India — Zonal Railways and Production Units |
| Application Dates | Not announced yet |
RRB NTPC 2026: How Many Vacancies Are Approved for Goods Train Manager, Clerk and JAA Posts?
Four posts are approved in the Graduate stream, and Goods Train Manager takes the lion’s share.
| Graduate Post | Department and Pay Level | Vacancies |
|---|---|---|
| Goods Train Manager | Traffic (Operating) · Level 5 | 2,750 |
| Sr. Clerk cum Typist | General · Level 5 | 371 |
| Junior Accounts Assistant cum Typist (JAA) | Accounts · Level 5 | 300 |
| Chief Commercial-cum-Ticket Supervisor (CCTS) | Traffic (Commercial) · Level 6 | 56 |
| Graduate Stream Approved | — | 3,477 |
Read this twice: the Board has noted that approval for Station Master in Pay Level 6 will be communicated separately. Station Master seats are therefore NOT inside the 3,477 figure above.
| Under-Graduate Post | Department and Pay Level | Vacancies |
|---|---|---|
| Commercial cum Ticket Clerk (CCTC) | Traffic (Commercial) · Level 3 | 700 |
| Junior Clerk cum Typist | General · Level 2 | 600 |
| Accounts Clerk cum Typist | Accounts · Level 2 | 200 |
| Trains Clerk | Traffic (Operating) · Level 2 | 188 |
| Under-Graduate Stream Approved | — | 1,688 |
One honest clarification: the letter approves the two streams separately and never prints a combined figure. The widely quoted 5,165 vacancies is simply 3,477 plus 1,688 added up — correct arithmetic, but not an official printed number.
RRB NTPC 2026 Annexure-A: Which Railway Zone Gets How Many Graduate Seats?
Annexure-A splits the Graduate seats across 25 Railways and Production Units. Each cell reads: Goods Train Manager / JAA / Sr. Clerk cum Typist / CCTS.
| Railway / PU | Post-Wise Split | Approved |
|---|---|---|
| BLW | 0 / 0 / 6 / 0 | 6 |
| CLW | 0 / 7 / 10 / 0 | 17 |
| CR | 116 / 12 / 12 / 0 | 140 |
| PLW | 0 / 6 / 0 / 0 | 6 |
| ECOR | 128 / 7 / 10 / 0 | 145 |
| ECR | 404 / 15 / 20 / 0 | 439 |
| ER | 174 / 65 / 42 / 0 | 281 |
| ICF | 0 / 0 / 5 / 0 | 5 |
| METRO | 0 / 4 / 3 / 0 | 7 |
| NCR | 196 / 0 / 20 / 30 | 246 |
| NER | 13 / 0 / 10 / 0 | 23 |
| NFR | 326 / 30 / 16 / 20 | 392 |
| NR | 38 / 25 / 44 / 0 | 107 |
| NWR | 166 / 35 / 26 / 0 | 227 |
| RCF | 0 / 7 / 4 / 0 | 11 |
| RDSO | 0 / 1 / 3 / 0 | 4 |
| RWF | 0 / 0 / 1 / 0 | 1 |
| SCOR | 22 / 0 / 10 / 6 | 38 |
| SCR | 11 / 5 / 0 / 0 | 16 |
| SECR | 489 / 14 / 0 / 0 | 503 |
| SER | 54 / 0 / 31 / 0 | 85 |
| SR | 93 / 20 / 41 / 0 | 154 |
| SWR | 301 / 10 / 31 / 0 | 342 |
| WCR | 200 / 12 / 11 / 0 | 223 |
| WR | 19 / 25 / 15 / 0 | 59 |
| All 25 Railways and PUs | 2,750 / 300 / 371 / 56 | 3,477 |
The spread is very uneven — SECR (503) and ECR (439) recruit the most, RWF has one seat, and CCTS exists only in NCR, NFR and SCOR. The letter also records that 05 JAA seats under SCR are meant for IRIFM, Secunderabad, with SCR indenting on IRIFM’s behalf.
RRB NTPC 2026 Annexure-B: Which Railway Zone Gets How Many Under-Graduate Seats?
Annexure-B covers 26 units — MCF appears here but has no Graduate-level seats at all. Each cell reads: CCTC / Junior Clerk cum Typist / Accounts Clerk cum Typist / Trains Clerk.
| Railway / PU | Post-Wise Split | Approved |
|---|---|---|
| BLW | 0 / 10 / 0 / 0 | 10 |
| CLW | 0 / 12 / 4 / 0 | 16 |
| CR | 31 / 20 / 22 / 10 | 83 |
| PLW | 0 / 5 / 2 / 0 | 7 |
| ECOR | 26 / 5 / 9 / 0 | 40 |
| ECR | 37 / 12 / 0 / 70 | 119 |
| ER | 65 / 100 / 30 / 26 | 221 |
| ICF | 0 / 2 / 0 / 0 | 2 |
| MCF | 0 / 1 / 3 / 0 | 4 |
| METRO | 5 / 13 / 0 / 0 | 18 |
| NCR | 69 / 20 / 3 / 10 | 102 |
| NER | 30 / 20 / 0 / 11 | 61 |
| NFR | 31 / 50 / 5 / 6 | 92 |
| NR | 39 / 70 / 18 / 18 | 145 |
| NWR | 45 / 50 / 25 / 0 | 120 |
| RCF | 0 / 10 / 4 / 0 | 14 |
| RDSO | 0 / 6 / 1 / 0 | 7 |
| RWF | 0 / 2 / 0 / 0 | 2 |
| SCOR | 60 / 8 / 0 / 0 | 68 |
| SCR | 0 / 0 / 3 / 1 | 4 |
| SECR | 8 / 0 / 11 / 0 | 19 |
| SER | 35 / 45 / 23 / 0 | 103 |
| SR | 173 / 50 / 0 / 18 | 241 |
| SWR | 16 / 19 / 7 / 1 | 43 |
| WCR | 25 / 13 / 10 / 6 | 54 |
| WR | 5 / 57 / 20 / 11 | 93 |
| All 26 Railways and PUs | 700 / 600 / 200 / 188 | 1,688 |
SR leads with 241, then ER (221) and NR (145). Here too, 03 Accounts Clerk seats under SCR belong to IRIFM. Every row and column in both annexures adds up exactly.
What Is the Eligibility Criteria for RRB NTPC 2026?
Educational Qualification
We will not guess this. The letter prescribes no educational qualification — that belongs to the CEN. It does name each post’s stream, and that is enough to start:
- Four posts sit in the Graduate stream, so if you are a graduate looking for government jobs, keep your degree ready.
- Four sit in the Under-Graduate stream, traditionally the route for 12th pass candidates.
Age Limit
This approval notice prescribes no age limit and no age relaxation — not one line about age appears in it. Age brackets come only with the CEN, so ignore any age figure circulating now.
Reservation
Every Railway must ensure the prescribed reservation norms for SC, ST, OBC and EWS while placing the final indent, which must not exceed the approved vacancies. But no category-wise split is given here — that arrives with the CEN.
| Point in the Letter | Who It Concerns |
|---|---|
| Community-wise break-up of the 05 Junior Accounts Assistant and 03 Accounts Clerk seats meant for IRIFM, Secunderabad | DG/IRIFM is requested to send it to PCPO/SCR for placing the final indent |
| Copy of the approval endorsed to EDE/RRB, Railway Board | EDE/RRB is the Board-level channel to the RRBs (Copy to, item 1) |
| Copy of the approval endorsed to the Chairpersons of all Railway Recruitment Boards, through EDE/RRB | The RRB Chairpersons, who will issue the CEN (Copy to, item 2) |
What Is the Salary and Pay Level for the RRB NTPC 2026 Recruitment?
The letter fixes a Pay Level for each post but states no basic pay, grade pay or allowance amount.
| Pay Level | Posts Approved at This Level |
|---|---|
| Level 6 | Chief Commercial-cum-Ticket Supervisor |
| Level 5 | Goods Train Manager, Sr. Clerk cum Typist, JAA |
| Level 3 | Commercial cum Ticket Clerk |
| Level 2 | Trains Clerk, Accounts Clerk cum Typist, Junior Clerk cum Typist |
CCTS at Level 6 is the senior-most post here. Do not trust any in-hand figure on social media — the pay matrix cell, DA and HRA come with the CEN.
What Is the Selection Process for RRB NTPC 2026?
Most websites will start guessing here. We will not. The letter prescribes no selection method — no stages, no exam pattern, no marking scheme and no document verification appear in it.
The CEN will define the stages and syllabus for these eight posts, so treat any stage-wise plan you see elsewhere as an assumption. What you can safely do today is build your basics and watch our exam syllabus and pattern pages.
How to Apply for RRB NTPC 2026 and When Will the Notification Come?
Applications have not opened — no form, no fee, nothing to pay. Anyone asking money for an “early form” is cheating you. Use the waiting period well:
- Keep your 10th, 12th, degree, caste and PwBD certificates scanned and ready.
- Check your name and date of birth match across Aadhaar, certificates and degree.
- Keep an email ID and mobile number active for the next year.
- Start revising Maths, Reasoning and General Awareness now.
- Watch the official RRB website (link in Essential Links below) for the CEN.
A missing or wrongly dated category certificate is a common reason candidates lose a reserved claim.
What Are the Important Dates for RRB NTPC 2026 and the Final Indent Timeline?
The Board has fixed a strict timeline, in consultation with Chairperson/RRB/Bengaluru, for placing the final indent in the OIRMS portal. This is the concrete answer to “when will the CEN come” — the notification follows this chain.
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Reference letter to Zonal Railways | 10 June 2026 |
| Vacancy approval letter issued | 03 September 2026 |
| Indenting Units place final indent | 07 September to 15 September 2026 |
| PCPO stage | 16 September to 22 September 2026 |
| RRBs stage | 23 September to 25 September 2026 |
| Nodal RRB stage | 26 September 2026 onwards |
| CEN release and application dates | Not announced |
Note the last row: no CEN date is fixed in this letter, and we will not invent one.
What Is the Application Fee for RRB NTPC 2026?
There is no fee today because there is no form yet — the letter is silent on money altogether.
| Detail | Status |
|---|---|
| Application fee | Not stated in this approval notice |
| Fee refund rule | Not stated — will come with the CEN |
| Payment mode | Not stated — will come with the CEN |
Past RRB notifications have used a category-wise fee with a partial refund, but this cycle’s rules and amounts come only with the CEN.
Essential Links for the RRB NTPC 2026 Recruitment Approval
- Download the Official RRB NTPC Vacancy Approval Notice PDF
- Visit the Official RRB Website
- Join WhatsApp Channel for Government Jobs
- Join Telegram Channel for Government Jobs
So start revising today — 5,165 seats are approved and the final indent must still be placed before the CEN. There is no last date to chase yet, and that head start is exactly what most candidates waste. Track our railway exam calendar and keep visiting GovtJobsAlert, so you are ready the day it arrives.