J&K and Ladakh High Court District Judge Vacancy 2026: Eligibility, Exam Pattern and Dates
The High Court of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh has issued two notifications for 27 District Judge posts in pay Level J-5 (₹1,44,840 – ₹1,94,660). Of these, 16 District Judge (Entry Level) posts are filled by direct recruitment, and practising advocates with seven years of continuous practice can apply. If you are a lawyer looking for government jobs in Jammu and Kashmir or Ladakh, this is one of the most respected posts you can aim for.
The other 11 LDCE posts are promotion-only, through a Limited Departmental Competitive Examination (LDCE) for serving Civil Judges (Senior Division). Advocates and the general public cannot apply for these 11. For the direct recruitment posts, the online window runs from 5 October 2026 to 4 November 2026. Read this full guide from GovtJobsAlert.in carefully before you start your form.
What are the Key Highlights of J&K High Court District Judge Recruitment 2026?
The two notices are separate recruitments with separate eligibility, exams and deadlines. Check which one is yours first.
| Detail | Information |
|---|---|
| Organisation | High Court of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh |
| Total Posts | 27 (16 direct recruitment + 11 LDCE promotion) |
| Direct Recruitment Notice | No. 2510 of 2026/RG dated 03.10.2026 |
| LDCE Notice | No. 2279 of 2026/RG dated 01.10.2026 |
| Pay | Level J-5 (₹1,44,840 – ₹1,94,660) for both |
| Who Can Apply (16 Entry Level) | Advocates with 7 years’ practice, and eligible in-service candidates |
| Who Can Apply (11 LDCE) | Serving Civil Judges (Senior Division) only |
| Last Date (16 Entry Level) | 4 November 2026 |
| Last Date (11 LDCE) | 15 October 2026 |
| Job Location | UTs of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh |
How Many Vacancies are in J&K High Court District Judge Recruitment 2026?
| Post | Mode | Posts |
|---|---|---|
| District Judge (Entry Level) | Direct Recruitment | 16 |
| District Judge | Promotion through LDCE | 11 |
| Total | 27 |
The 16 direct recruitment posts are split by category exactly as the notification prints them:
| Category | Posts |
|---|---|
| OM | 04 |
| SC | 02 |
| ST-1 | 01 |
| ST-2 | 02 |
| ALC | 01 |
| OBC | 02 |
| RBA | 02 |
| EWS | 02 |
| All categories | 16 |
The LDCE notice does not print any category break-up for the 11 LDCE posts. The direct recruitment notice also does not split the 16 direct recruitment posts between J&K and Ladakh, so read your category row only, not a UT share.
Good news for earlier applicants: this notice replaces Notification No. 1841 of 2024 (08.08.2024). If you applied under that notice or under Notification No. 03 of 2024 (05.06.2024), were eligible under the Rules then in force, and your candidature was not rejected, you need not apply again.
What is the Eligibility for J&K High Court District Judge Recruitment 2026?
Direct Recruitment (16 Entry Level Posts)
| Requirement | Detail |
|---|---|
| Law Degree | Degree in Law from a university established by law in India and recognised by the Bar Council of India |
| Practice | Practising advocate in Civil and Criminal courts with at least 7 years of actual continuous practice |
| In-service route | Combined continuous experience of 7 years or more as Advocate and Judicial Officer |
| Language | Proficient in reading and writing Urdu |
| Domicile | Domicile of UT of J&K, or resident of UT of Ladakh, and a citizen of India |
| Cut-off date | Experience and domicile counted as on the last date of applications |
“Advocate” here includes Practising Advocates, Pleaders / Government Pleaders and Public Prosecutors. If your seven years come partly from a Public Prosecutor role, you still count it. If you are a law graduate checking other options, see our law and judicial government jobs page too.
Proof matters as much as the years. Advocates need an experience certificate from the Principal District and Sessions Judge or the Registrar Judicial of the concerned Wing, in the Annexure-A format. In-service officers need Annexure-B, and Judicial Officers serving in other High Courts must get a similar certificate from their own High Court.
LDCE Promotion (Serving Civil Judges Only)
Only Civil Judges (Senior Division) can apply, with at least 3 years in that rank and at least 7 years’ total service as Civil Judge (Junior Division) plus Civil Judge (Senior Division).
J&K District Judge Age Limit 2026 (Direct Recruitment)
| Category | Age Limit |
|---|---|
| All candidates | 35 to 45 years |
| SC, ST, PwBD, OBC | Upper age relaxed by 2 years |
🎂 Not sure if you meet the age criteria? Use our free Age Calculator for Government Exams to find your exact age on the cut-off date and instantly check your eligibility — including SC / ST / OBC / PwBD age relaxation. →
Age is counted as on the last date of receipt of applications, so work it out for 4 November 2026. The minimum is just as strict as the maximum: a brilliant 34-year-old advocate is not yet eligible this time. The LDCE notice does not state any age limit.
What is the Salary for J&K High Court District Judge 2026?
Both streams carry the same pay, and it is printed in both notices. Here is exactly what they say:
- Pay Level: J-5
- Pay Range: ₹1,44,840 – ₹1,94,660
- Applies to: all 16 Entry Level posts and all 11 LDCE posts
- Governing Rules: J&K Higher Judicial Service Rules, 2009
Neither notice lists allowances or an in-hand amount, so we have not guessed one here. The range above is the pay level exactly as printed.
For a senior advocate, the real value is not only the pay. A District Judge post brings a fixed, respected career in the higher judiciary. The High Court asks candidates to read the 2009 Rules before applying, so go through them if you want the full picture of service conditions.
Who is Not Eligible for J&K High Court District Judge 2026?
These lines decide whether your application survives verification, so read every row before you pay the fee.
| Condition | What it means for you |
|---|---|
| Domicile | No person is eligible unless a J&K domicile or Ladakh resident and a citizen of India |
| Dismissal | Not eligible if dismissed from service by any Government, UT, High Court or statutory or local authority |
| Conviction or debarment | Not eligible if convicted of an offence, or debarred by any High Court, PSC or recruiting body |
| Influence | Not eligible if you influence the recruiting authority directly or indirectly |
| Marriage | A man with more than one living wife (unless permitted by law), or a woman married to a man already having another wife, is not eligible |
| Fake category certificate | Debarred from the examination, plus other penal action |
| Category certificate | Must be valid as on the cut-off date; candidature stays provisional until verified |
| Wrong information | Leads to rejection at any stage |
| Late or incomplete forms | Incomplete forms, forms received after the last date or by any other mode are not entertained |
| After the cut-off | Application form, documents and fee payment are not accepted after the cut-off date |
| Exam schedule | No claim of being unaware of the test dates will be entertained |
| Travel | No TA/DA for the test or interview |
What is the Selection Process and Exam Pattern for J&K High Court District Judge 2026?
Direct Recruitment
| Stage | Detail |
|---|---|
| Written Exam | 2 papers, 80 marks each, 2 hours each |
| Viva-voce call | 50% in written (45% for SC / ST / PwBD), 3 candidates per vacancy, in merit order |
| Viva-voce | 40 marks; minimum 50% (45% for SC / ST / PwBD) |
| Final Selection | Cumulative grade value of written exam and viva-voce |
| Paper | Main Topics |
|---|---|
| Paper I | Essay/Precis, Constitution, Legal Maxims, Urdu or Hindi to English translation, civil judgment writing, property and personal laws, CPC |
| Paper II | CrPC/BNSS, IPC/BNS, Evidence Act/BSA, criminal judgment writing, J&K CSR, GFR, Medical Jurisprudence, PC Act, NDPS |
Each paper has 3 parts, and you must attempt 9 questions, 3 from each part. The full Annexure-C list is in the notice; also see our syllabus section for prep material.
LDCE (Serving Civil Judges)
| Stage | Marks |
|---|---|
| Paper I: Laws and Procedure (3 hours) | 100 |
| Paper II: Two judgments, Civil and Criminal (90 minutes) | 80 |
| Performance Assessment: ACRs 35, Judgments 25, Disposal of contested cases 20 | 80 |
| Viva voce | 20 |
For viva voce you need 50% in each paper, 50% in Performance Assessment and 55% aggregate. Only those with 55% or more in aggregate are declared successful. The syllabus is the one in High Court Notification No. 1142 of 2024.
How to Apply Online for J&K High Court District Judge 2026?
| Step | Action |
|---|---|
| 1 | Open the High Court recruitment portal, exams.jklhc.in (link in Essential Links) |
| 2 | Fill the online application form and upload your documents |
| 3 | Submit the form |
| 4 | After submission, pay ₹1,200 online |
| 5 | Print the application and fee receipt and keep them with document copies |
Upload your Matric certificate (date of birth), domicile or residence certificate, law degree, Annexure-A or Annexure-B and a category certificate if you claim reservation. Get your experience certificate signed early. Keep the printout of your form, the fee receipt and copies of all documents ready, because the High Court can ask for them at any time.
LDCE candidates log in on the portal between 3 and 15 October 2026. Direct recruitment has no separate call letters; dates come through newspapers, electronic media and the High Court website, so keep watching the exam calendar.
What are the Important Dates for J&K High Court District Judge 2026?
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| LDCE notice issued | 1 October 2026 |
| LDCE online window | 3 to 15 October 2026 |
| Direct recruitment notice issued | 3 October 2026 |
| Direct recruitment link opens | 5 October 2026 |
| Last date (form + fee) | 4 November 2026 |
| Written exam | To be notified separately |
What is the Application Fee for J&K High Court District Judge 2026?
| Stream | Fee |
|---|---|
| Direct Recruitment (all candidates) | ₹1,200 |
| LDCE | Not stated in the notice |
Pay the fee online after submitting your form. The direct recruitment notice states one fee and does not mention any category-wise concession.
Essential Links for J&K High Court District Judge Recruitment 2026
- Download Direct Recruitment Notice No. 2510 of 2026 (16 Entry Level Posts)
- Download LDCE Promotion Notice No. 2279 of 2026 (11 LDCE Posts, Civil Judges only)
- Apply Online for J&K High Court District Judge Recruitment 2026
- Visit J&K High Court District Judge Official Website
- Join WhatsApp Channel for Government Jobs
- Join Telegram Channel for Government Jobs
- Join Jammu and Kashmir Govt Jobs Telegram Channel
If you have seven years at the Bar, J&K domicile or Ladakh residence and Urdu proficiency, and meet the age limit, this is your chance to join the higher judiciary. Get your Annexure-A certificate signed this week and submit well before 4 November 2026. Serving Civil Judges, remember the LDCE closes on 15 October 2026. For more openings, check Ladakh government jobs and keep visiting GovtJobsAlert.in.