IUST Recruitment 2026 – 48 Assistant Professor Posts (Kashmir), Apply Online by 2 Dec

Share This Page
WhatsApp Telegram
Follow Us for Updates

IUST Recruitment 2026: 48 Assistant Professor Posts, Eligibility and Hard Copy Deadline

The Islamic University of Science & Technology (IUST), Kashmir has released its detailed advertisement for 48 Assistant Professor posts. The vacancies are spread over 20 departments and centres, from English and Physics to Civil Engineering, Planning and AYUSH Sciences. If you hold the right Master’s plus NET or a Ph.D. and want a teaching career in Jammu and Kashmir, read on.

Online applications run from 2 November 2026 to 2 December 2026, and a printed copy must reach the Registrar by 7 December 2026, 4:00 PM. Miss the hard copy and your online form can be rejected. This is one of the many teaching and faculty jobs we track, so read each section below before you start.

What are the Key Highlights of IUST Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026?

DetailInformation
OrganisationIslamic University of Science & Technology, Kashmir
PostAssistant Professor (all 48 posts)
Total Vacancies48 across 20 departments and centres
AdvertisementDetailed Advertisement Notice No. 09 of 2026, dated 29 October 2026
Pay ScaleNot stated in the advertisement
Age LimitNot stated in the advertisement
Apply ModeOnline form, then hard copy to the Registrar

How Many Vacancies Are There in IUST Recruitment 2026? Department-wise Posts

Reservation follows the rules of the Government of the UT of Jammu & Kashmir. Find your department and check whether your category has a seat there, because many departments have only one or two posts.

Department / CentreCategory-wise PostsTotal
English Language & LiteratureUR 1 / ST-1 1 / RBA 13
Urdu Language & Literature (Centre)SC 11
Journalism & Mass CommunicationUR 11
EducationUR 1 / ST-1 1 / EWS 13
Mathematical SciencesUR 1 / ST-2 1 / EWS 13
ZoologyST-1 1 / RBA 12
PhysicsUR 2 / SC 13
ChemistryUR 1 / RBA 1 / EWS 13
Food TechnologyRBA 1 / OBC 12
Civil EngineeringUR 1 / RBA 12
Electronics & Communication EngineeringUR 11
Computer Science & EngineeringUR 1 / SC 12
Mechanical EngineeringUR 2 / SC 13
Management StudiesUR 1 / ST-1 1 / ST-2 13
Computer ScienceUR 1 / ALC/IB 12
Centre for AYUSH SciencesEWS 1 / OBC 12
PlanningUR 11
GeomaticsUR 1 / ST-2 12
Watson-Crick Centre for Molecular MedicinesUR 1 / SC 12
Kalam Academy of Skill Development & Training (KAST)UR 2 / ST-1 1 / RBA 1 / EWS 2 / OBC 17

The two posts marked with an asterisk in Mathematical Sciences (the UR and EWS posts) need a different Master’s degree, explained in the eligibility section. The notification also provides 4% horizontal reservation for PwD across all vertical categories, subject to suitable candidates being available.

The seven KAST posts are branch-specific:

KAST BranchCategoryPosts
Software EngineeringST-1 and EWS2
Solar PVRBA and EWS2
Food TechnologyUR1
Mechanical EngineeringOBC1
Electronics & Communication EngineeringUR1

What is the Eligibility for IUST Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026?

Candidates also need NET, SET or SLET unless exempt (see below). Percentages are 55%, or 50% for SC/ST/OBC non-creamy layer, wherever the advertisement says so.

DepartmentEssential Qualification
English, Urdu, Journalism, Education, Zoology, Physics, ChemistryMaster’s degree in the subject with 55% (50% SC/ST/OBC non-creamy layer), or equivalent grade
Mathematical SciencesMaster’s in Mathematics or Applied Mathematics with 55%
Mathematical Sciences (posts marked *)Master’s in Data Sciences, Actuarial Sciences, Statistics or Applied Statistics with 55%
Food Technology, Civil, E&CE, CSE, MechanicalB.E./B.Tech/B.S. and M.E./M.Tech/M.S. (or Integrated M.Tech) in a relevant branch, first class in any one degree
Management StudiesAny Bachelor’s degree, plus MBA, PGDM, C.A., ICWA or M.Com. with first class
Computer ScienceMaster’s with 55% (50% SC/ST/OBC non-creamy layer) in Computer Science, IT, Computer Applications or Computer Engineering
AYUSH SciencesMD/MS in an AYUSH system with at least 55%, recognised under CCIM Act 1970 or NCISM Act 2020
PlanningBachelor’s in Architecture, Planning, Technology or Engineering plus Master’s in Planning with 60% aggregate in either degree; or Master’s in Economics, Geography or Sociology plus Master’s in Planning with 60% aggregate in either
GeomaticsMaster’s with 55% in Geo-informatics, Geomatics, Remote Sensing, GIS or Geospatial Technology
Molecular MedicinesMaster’s with 55% (50% SC/ST/OBC non-creamy layer) in Molecular Medicine, Biotechnology, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Genetics or a related subject
KAST (all five branches)Ph.D. with first class in all preceding degrees in the branch subject or a relevant allied subject, a consistently very good academic record and proof of ability for independent research

For KAST, the Ph.D. subject is Computer Science for Software Engineering, Electrical Engineering for Solar PV, Food Technology for Food Technology, Mechanical Engineering for Mechanical, and Electronics & Communication Engineering for E&CE. Note that KAST is the only place where a Ph.D. is itself the essential qualification, so a Master’s holder with NET should not apply there.

Mathematical Sciences deserves a second look. Of its three posts, the UR and EWS posts marked with an asterisk go to candidates with a Master’s in Data Sciences, Actuarial Sciences, Statistics or Applied Statistics. A pure Mathematics postgraduate should therefore check which post they are actually eligible for before applying. The remaining ST-2 post follows the Mathematics or Applied Mathematics rule.

NET, SET or Ph.D. Rule

You must have UGC or CSIR NET, or a similar UGC-accredited test such as SLET/SET held by the UT of J&K. Ph.D. holders in the subject whose degree complies with the UGC 2009 Regulations are exempt, and must submit a compliance certificate from their university in the prescribed format, or the Ph.D. will not be considered. Candidates registered for Ph.D. before 11 July 2009 are exempt only if five conditions are met and certified by the Registrar or Dean. A Ph.D. from a foreign university ranked in the top 500 by QS, THE or ARWU also qualifies, with an AIU equivalence certificate. Those with a Ph.D. and Master’s before 19 September 1991 and 50% or more are also eligible.

What is the Salary for IUST Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026? (Pay Scale Not Stated)

The advertisement states no pay scale and also gives no age limit, so we cannot tell you either. Do not trust figures from other websites. Check the University website for any addendum, and read the appointment terms carefully if you are called for interview. The only pay-related fact given is that selected candidates are governed by the New Pension Scheme (NPS).

What is the Selection Process for IUST Recruitment 2026?

StageDetail
ShortlistingOnly if many applications arrive: ordinarily 20 candidates for one post and 5 for every additional post
InterviewEligible candidates are told the date and place through the website or e-mail
Document checkOriginal documents are needed at the interview

The advertisement describes shortlisting on your academic record and an interview, and it does not mention a written test. Fill the online form with complete and accurate details. The shortlisting score is out of 100:

ComponentMarks
Graduation15 (80% and above), 13 (60% to under 80%), 10 (55% to under 60%), 5 (45% to under 55%)
Post-Graduation25 (80% and above), 23 (60% to under 80%), 20 (55% to under 60%; 50% for SC/ST/OBC non-creamy layer/PwD)
M.Phil7 (60% and above), 5 (55% to under 60%)
Ph.D.30 (M.Phil plus Ph.D. capped at 30)
NET with JRF / NET / SLET-SET7 / 5 / 3 (JRF with NET/SET/SLET capped at 7)
Research publicationsUp to 10 (2 marks per Scopus or Web of Science paper)
Teaching or post-doctoral experienceUp to 10 (2 marks per year, pro rata below one year)
Awards3 for international or national level, 2 for State Govt (capped at 3)

Candidates with B.Tech/B.E./FYUG and a direct Ph.D. have the undergraduate score scaled to 40 points instead of the Master’s score: above 90% gets 40, above 80% up to 90% gets 37, and above 75% up to 80% gets 35. Language departments also count UGC-CARE journals. For research marks, a paper where you are the sole author, or both first and corresponding author, earns full marks; first or corresponding author alone earns 70%; joint authorship earns 30%. The final selection is governed by the University’s Statutes and UGC Regulations, which prevail if the two ever differ.

How to Apply for IUST Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026 Online?

The process is the same for every post here: online form first, then a hard copy. Keep a detailed CV ready, listing each paper with journal title, volume, page numbers, year, ISSN or ISBN, authorship and whether it is refereed or indexed, because these details are used to verify your research score. Teaching experience needs a certificate from the competent authority of your institution.

StepAction
1Open the IUST website (link in Essential Links below) and go to the recruitment portal
2Register with a valid e-mail ID and mobile number, and note your username and password
3Fill in personal, education and experience details, preview and submit. No editing is allowed afterwards
4Pay the non-refundable fee online
5Print the submitted form and send it with self-attested documents to the Registrar’s office by 7 December 2026, 4:00 PM

Hard copies sent by post must reach the University by 7 December. Employed candidates must forward their applications through their employer. Keep category and EWS certificates, experience certificates and the CV in the same serial order as your form.

What are the Important Dates for IUST Recruitment 2026?

EventDate
Advertisement dated29 October 2026
Online forms available2 November 2026
Last date for online application2 December 2026
Last date for hard copy7 December 2026 (4:00 PM)

Experience is counted as on the last date for online submission, 2 December 2026. The hard copy window is only five days after the online deadline, so print and post your documents early. Interview dates are not announced yet.

What is the Application Fee for IUST Recruitment 2026?

CategoryFee
All candidatesRs 1,000 (non-refundable)
PwD candidatesExempted

Pay online by debit card, credit card or net banking. Rs 1,000 is charged from every candidate except PwD applicants, and it will not be refunded, so confirm that you meet the qualification for your department before paying.

Conditions That Can Cost You the Post

ConditionWhat it means for you
Hard copyNot submitting it in time makes your online application liable to rejection
Late or incomplete formsApplications received after the last date or incomplete in any respect will not be entertained
Missing detailsInformation not provided under the relevant heads or columns shall not be considered
Ph.D. certificateWithout the UGC compliance certificate, your Ph.D. will not be considered
EWS postsPosts marked EWS are meant for EWS candidates; UR candidates may apply at their own risk and responsibility, and their candidature is considered only if no suitable EWS candidate is available
False claimsImpersonation, false or tampered documents, false statements or suppression of material information can lead to debarment, criminal or disciplinary action and termination
CanvassingCanvassing in any form leads to disqualification
Interview travelNo TA/DA is paid for the interview
UpdatesAddenda and corrigenda appear on the University website only; newspaper notice is not obligatory, so check the website regularly
University’s rightsThe University may amend, defer or cancel the process, or change the number of posts
Eligibility dateOnly candidates who meet every eligibility condition by the last date should apply
ExperienceTime spent earning a PG, M.Phil or Ph.D. is not counted as experience, except teaching done without leave while researching, backed by a Registrar’s certificate
Foreign degreesAny degree from a foreign university needs an equivalence certificate from the concerned regulatory authority
Category claimsThe appointment is subject to verification of reserved-category certificates and other claims
Court casesThe recruitment is subject to the outcome of any case pending before a competent court

Essential Links for IUST Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026

Friends, if your Master’s and NET or Ph.D. match a department above, start your online form on 2 November and keep the 7 December hard copy date in mind. Updates will appear only on the University website, so check it often. Explore more post graduate government jobs and keep visiting GovtJobsAlert.in for more such updates.

Liked This? Share It!
WhatsApp Telegram
Never Miss an Update!