DTU Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026 (Advt 04/2026) – 219 Posts, Apply Online from 23 October, Last Date 7 December

Share This Page
WhatsApp Telegram
Follow Us for Updates

DTU Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026: 219 Posts, 24 Disciplines, Fee and Selection

Teaching in Delhi with a government university behind you is a real career step, and Delhi Technological University (DTU) has just opened it up. Advertisement No. 04/2026 invites applications for 219 Assistant Professor posts across 24 disciplines, from Computer Science and Civil Engineering to Economics, English and Design. The advertisement also covers backlog vacancies and runs a special drive for PwBD candidates.

Applications open on 23 October 2026 (11:00 AM) and close on 7 December 2026 (5:00 PM). The pay scale and the discipline-wise qualifications are not printed in this notification, so you must read the Recruitment Rules page before you apply. This guide covers every point the notification itself gives. Keep GovtJobsAlert.in open for more Delhi government jobs.

Key Highlights of DTU Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026

DTU is a non-affiliating teaching-cum-research university working in applied sciences, engineering, technology, management, economics and allied areas. It is filling these posts by direct recruitment, and it asks you to apply online only. No other mode of application is accepted.

DetailInformation
OrganisationDelhi Technological University (formerly Delhi College of Engineering), established by the Govt. of NCT of Delhi under Act 6 of 2009
AdvertisementNo. 04/2026, dated 22 October 2026
PostAssistant Professor (direct recruitment)
Total Vacancies219 across 24 disciplines, including backlog vacancies
PwBD Posts17 (horizontal reservation, inside the 219)
Application ModeOnline only, through the DTU website
Last Date7 December 2026, 5:00 PM
Job LocationDelhi (main campus at Shahbad Daulatpur, Bawana Road; USME at the East Delhi Campus)

How Many Vacancies Are There in DTU Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026?

Reservation differs from discipline to discipline, so read the row for your own discipline. The table shows UR, SC, ST, OBC and EWS seats, then the total. PwBD seats sit inside the total and are shown in brackets with their disability categories.

DisciplineCategory-wise VacanciesTotal
Applied ChemistryUR 0 / SC 1 / ST 0 / OBC 3 / EWS 04
Chemical EngineeringUR 1 / SC 0 / ST 1 / OBC 2 / EWS 04
Applied MathematicsUR 4 / SC 1 / ST 0 / OBC 3 / EWS 311 (PwBD 1 (a))
Mathematics & ComputingUR 1 / SC 0 / ST 0 / OBC 1 / EWS 02
Applied PhysicsUR 7 / SC 2 / ST 2 / OBC 3 / EWS 115 (PwBD 1 (d&e))
Engineering PhysicsUR 1 / SC 2 / ST 0 / OBC 6 / EWS 211 (PwBD 1 (a))
Automobile EngineeringUR 6 / SC 1 / ST 1 / OBC 2 / EWS 212 (PwBD 1 (a))
Civil EngineeringUR 7 / SC 2 / ST 2 / OBC 6 / EWS 320 (PwBD 2 [1(a),1(b)])
Management (DSM)UR 0 / SC 3 / ST 2 / OBC 3 / EWS 210 (PwBD 1 (d&e))
Electronics & Communication EngineeringUR 1 / SC 1 / ST 0 / OBC 1 / EWS 14
Electrical EngineeringUR 2 / SC 1 / ST 1 / OBC 2 / EWS 28
Environmental Science & EngineeringUR 3 / SC 1 / ST 0 / OBC 2 / EWS 06 (PwBD 1 (d&e))
Humanities (Economics)UR 1 / SC 1 / ST 1 / OBC 2 / EWS 05
Humanities (English)UR 1 / SC 0 / ST 1 / OBC 1 / EWS 03
Production EngineeringUR 9 / SC 3 / ST 1 / OBC 5 / EWS 220 (PwBD 2 [1(a),1(b)])
Mechanical EngineeringUR 2 / SC 4 / ST 1 / OBC 9 / EWS 218 (PwBD 2 [1(b),1(c)])
Information TechnologyUR 1 / SC 1 / ST 1 / OBC 6 / EWS 09 (PwBD 1 (b))
Software EngineeringUR 2 / SC 0 / ST 0 / OBC 1 / EWS 03
Computer Science & EngineeringUR 7 / SC 1 / ST 6 / OBC 16 / EWS 636 (PwBD 3 [1(b),2(c)])
Economics (USME)UR 0 / SC 0 / ST 0 / OBC 1 / EWS 01
DesignUR 2 / SC 0 / ST 0 / OBC 1 / EWS 03
BiotechnologyUR 1 / SC 1 / ST 0 / OBC 2 / EWS 26 (PwBD 1 (d&e))
Geospatial Science *UR 0 / SC 0 / ST 1 / OBC 0 / EWS 12
Geospatial Technology *UR 3 / SC 1 / ST 0 / OBC 2 / EWS 06
All disciplinesCategory totals below219 (PwBD 17)

\* The regularisation of incumbents against Geospatial Science and Geospatial Technology shall happen only after these posts are applied for, created, approved and sanctioned. At present they are borrowed from the sanctioned posts of other disciplines.

In all, the 219 seats are split UR 62, SC 27, ST 21, OBC 80 and EWS 29. The biggest intakes are Computer Science and Engineering (36), Civil Engineering (20), Production Engineering (20), Mechanical Engineering (18) and Applied Physics (15). The vacancies are provisional and the University can change them as per its requirement. Applied Chemistry, Management (DSM), Economics (USME) and Geospatial Science have no Unreserved seat, so check your category before paying the fee. PwBD candidates should note that the reservation is horizontal, so a PwBD seat can fall inside any of the category columns above. The suitability of each disability type (a, b, c, d and e) for a discipline is in Annexure-I, which is not part of the PDF.

What is the Eligibility for DTU Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026?

PointRequirement
NationalityCitizen of India
Essential qualification, branches and experienceAs per the discipline-wise Recruitment Rules (link in Essential Links). Not printed in the notification
Cut-off dateEligibility is decided as on 7 December 2026, 5:00 PM
Equivalent degreesFour-year B.Sc. (Engg.), B.E., B.Tech and B.S. are treated as equal; so are M.Sc. (Engg.), M.E., M.Tech and M.S.
AMIE / IETEAlso eligible in the relevant branches named in the Recruitment Rules
Class not awardedAt least 60% aggregate is treated as first class
Foreign degreesNeed an AIU equivalence or recognition certificate, where applicable
Other equivalenceQuote the authority, number and date, and attach a copy

Because the discipline-wise rules are not in the PDF, the safest habit is to open the Recruitment Rules page first and match your Bachelor’s, Master’s and Ph.D. branch to the exact discipline you plan to choose. Do this for every discipline you apply to, since each form carries its own fee. The University may also consider a deviation in the nomenclature of a branch or degree given in the Recruitment Rules. Its decision on any doubt about the rules, equivalence or specialisation is final and binding. The prescribed qualifications are only the minimum, and having them does not guarantee a call for interview.

Marks Rule for Science and Humanities Disciplines

For Applied Mathematics, Applied Chemistry, Applied Physics, Engineering Physics (non-Engineering candidates), Humanities (Economics), Humanities (English), Economics (USME), Geospatial Science and Biotechnology (non-Engineering candidates), the eligibility mark is 55% (or an equivalent grade).

CandidateMarks needed
SC / ST / OBC (NCL-Delhi) / PwBD50% (5% relaxation at Bachelor’s and Master’s level, per the UGC Gazette of 18 July 2018)
Ph.D. holders whose Master’s came before 19 September 199150% (relaxed from 55%)

Grace marks are not counted in either case. The notification gives this marks rule for these disciplines only. For every other discipline, see the Recruitment Rules.

What is the Age Limit for DTU Assistant Professor 2026?

DetailRule
Maximum ageNo upper age limit
Minimum ageNot stated in the notification
RetirementSuperannuation follows the University’s prevailing norms

What is the Salary for DTU Assistant Professor 2026?

The notification does not state the pay scale or pay level. It sits in the Recruitment Rules, which the notification points to through Annexure-II. Open the Recruitment Rules link in Essential Links for the figure and do not rely on any number quoted elsewhere. The Selection Committee may recommend additional increments in cases of exceptional merit, for higher qualifications, experience and academic achievements. Treat any salary figure you see on social media as unconfirmed until it matches the Recruitment Rules, and check it again before you compare this offer with others or decide how many disciplines to apply for.

What is the Selection Process for DTU Assistant Professor 2026?

StageWhat happens
1. Online screeningYour online form is auto-scored out of 100 on Table-II
2. Consideration zoneCandidates up to 1.2 times the number to be shortlisted are listed; only they send hard copies
3. Provisional shortlistAt most (4 + 8X) candidates per discipline and category, where X is the number of advertised posts
4. Document and Point Mark VerificationOriginals and self-attested copies; biometrics captured
5. PresentationTests teaching aptitude and ability
6. InterviewSelection Committee tests domain knowledge and interview performance

A candidate who scores equal to the last shortlisted candidate may also be included in the consideration zone and the shortlist. If the shortlisting cut-off for a reserved category (OBC, SC or ST) is higher than the Unreserved cut-off, candidates of that category who score equal to or above the UR cut-off are also provisionally shortlisted for verification. A candidate from SC, ST, OBC or EWS who is selected on the same standard as Unreserved candidates and appears in the combined merit list is treated as own-merit and is adjusted against an Unreserved point, not a reserved seat. The notification does not mention a written exam, so do not assume one in either direction. Final selection rests on academic record, experience and research performance, the presentation and the interview.

Table-II: How the 100-Point Screening Works

CriterionMaximum Score
Ph.D.30
Pre-Ph.D. degree (minimum 2 years, as named in the Recruitment Rules)60, worked out as 35 + 0.5 x (X – 50), where X is your % marks
UGC/CSIR-NET (JRF), GATE or CEED in the relevant field10

Notice how much weight the Ph.D. carries here: 30 of the 100 screening points. A candidate with a Ph.D. and a good Master’s percentage will start well ahead, so claim every point honestly and keep proof for it. You may pick any Pre-Ph.D. degree from the Recruitment Rules to maximise your score. If your degree gives no grade conversion rule, percentage is taken as 10 x CGPA. A Ph.D. from a foreign university must be recognised by AIU.

Table-1: Points You Claim in the Online Form

ItemPoints
UG marks (max 4)45% = 0.5, 55% = 1, 65% = 2, 75% = 3, 90% = 4
PG marks (max 4)50% = 0.5, 60% = 1, 70% = 2, 80% = 3, 90% = 4
Ph.D. awarded (max 8)8
Test qualified (max 4)SLET/SET 2; NET-Lectureship, GATE, GPAT or CEED 3; NET-JRF, or GATE/GPAT rank up to 500, or CEED rank up to 50: 4
Teaching, industrial or research experience (max 5)1 per year
SCI/SCIE/SSCI papers (max 15)3 per paper as first, second, third or corresponding author; 1 per paper as other co-author
Books and chapters (max 3)2 per international-publisher book; 1 per national-publisher or edited book; chapters 0.5 (single author) or 0.25
Projects and patents (max 5)Completed project: PI 4, Co-PI 2; ongoing: PI 2, Co-PI 1; patent awarded 2, published 1
Research guidance (max 2)2 per Ph.D. scholar; 0.5 per Master’s scholar

Section A (academic record) is capped at 20 points and Section B (experience and research) at 30. Only regular or contractual teaching counts, and guest faculty experience is not counted. A spell under 6 months with one employer is ignored, and years are counted in full 12-month blocks. Industrial experience must be at management level. Papers that are only submitted, under review, in print or accepted, but not published by the closing date, shall not be considered for assessment.

What are the Important Dates for DTU Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026?

EventDate
Advertisement dated22 October 2026
Online application opens23 October 2026, 11:00 AM
Online application closes7 December 2026, 5:00 PM
Hard copy for consideration-zone candidatesDate to be announced on the DTU website
OBC (NCL) certificate must be issuedOn or after 1 April 2026 and not later than 7 December 2026

The notification gives no dates for the presentation or the interview. The University says all further communication will be displayed on its website, so check the DTU website regularly and keep your email address active, because correspondence is sent only to the address you enter in the form. The University will not answer queries about postal delays, the conduct of the presentation or interview, or why you were not called.

What is the Application Fee for DTU Assistant Professor 2026?

CategoryFee
UR / OBC₹2,000
EWS / SC / ST₹1,000
PwBDExempt

The EWS/SC/ST concession and the PwBD exemption apply only where the post is reserved for that category and you apply against that reserved post. Keep the payment receipt, because it is required with the hard copy if you reach the consideration zone. Fee is online only. It is not refunded and cannot be moved to another recruitment. Applying to more than one discipline needs a separate form and a separate fee for each.

Conditions That Can Cost You the Post

ConditionWhat it means for you
Closing timeNo application is accepted after 7 December 2026, 5:00 PM, even if the payment gateway took your fee
No correctionsAfter submission, no change or correction, including change of category, is allowed
One form per postDuplicate forms for one post may all be rejected and the candidature cancelled
Incomplete formsLate forms, incomplete forms and forms without the fee are rejected. Applications that do not meet eligibility, or come without the fee and supporting documents, are summarily rejected
Wrong entryIf you reach the consideration zone by wrong or false details and are later found ineligible, you are rejected at any stage
Missing proofA claim with no document attached scores zero
Document verificationIf you cannot produce a required document, your candidature is cancelled and you cannot appear for presentation or interview
False informationAny false information cancels your candidature
Private-sector candidatesIf you claim earlier government service, you must attach a no vigilance or disciplinary case certificate, failing which you are ineligible
Photograph and signatureA blurred or illegible photograph or signature gets the online form rejected
Not shortlistedCandidates not provisionally shortlisted are not allowed further in the process
AttendanceYou must appear in person at every stage; no TA/DA is paid

Reservation Rules You Must Check

CategoryRule
ReservationAs per the orders of the Govt. of Delhi; choose your category while applying
OBCOnly OBC (NCL-Delhi) gets OBC benefit. OBC from outside Delhi and creamy layer candidates apply as UR
EWSIncome and Asset Certificate for FY 2026-27 (income of FY 2025-26)
CertificatesEWS, SC, ST, OBC (NCL-Delhi) and PwBD certificates must be issued on or before 7 December 2026
PwBDHorizontal reservation, only for the posts identified as suitable. Unfilled PwBD posts are carried forward at University level

How to Apply for DTU Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026 Online?

StepAction
1Open the official DTU website from Essential Links and find the Assistant Professor advertisement
2Fill the online form for your discipline with Table-1 points and Table-II details; use an email address and mobile number that are active
3Upload a recent colour photograph (plain white or off-white background) and your signature
4Pay the fee online and keep the proof
5Submit, then keep a printout of the form
6If you are in the consideration zone, post the signed printout with self-attested documents in a sealed envelope to the Recruitment Cell, Room No. 818, 8th Floor, AB-3 Block, DTU, Shahbad Daulatpur, Bawana Road, Delhi – 110042

Remember that hard copies are asked for only from consideration-zone candidates, and the envelope must reach DTU on or before the closing date and time announced on the website. The University is not responsible for postal delay or loss, so post it early. No document is accepted after you submit the online form, so upload everything correctly the first time. Write “Application for the post of [Name of the Post] in the discipline of [Name of the Discipline]” on the envelope. Keep your degree marksheets, experience certificates and category certificate ready. Government employees must apply through proper channel. For Teaching and Faculty jobs, Engineering jobs and Post Graduate jobs, see our category pages.

Essential Links for DTU Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026

The third link above leads to the discipline-wise Recruitment Rules page, where the pay scale, qualifications and experience for your discipline are given. Read it before you pay the fee.

If your discipline is on the list, start gathering your marksheets, publication proofs and certificates now. The scoring is points-based and automatic at the first stage, so a careful, honest form matters more than anything else you do this month. The window runs till 7 December 2026, but a form cannot be corrected once submitted, so do not wait for the last day. Keep visiting GovtJobsAlert.in for more updates, including the later stages of this recruitment.

Liked This? Share It!
WhatsApp Telegram
Never Miss an Update!